krotsend.blogg.se

Mac mini late 2012 ssd compatibility
Mac mini late 2012 ssd compatibility








mac mini late 2012 ssd compatibility

I am not complaining, but I do not see the theoretical Thunderbolt 1 being much faster than the firewire 800, and in actual fact it is a fair bit slower.īut hey I'm retired and over 80 and I've got the time.

#Mac mini late 2012 ssd compatibility mac

2.5" HDD Bufallo via Thunderbolt 1: 9.43GB took 11.54 minutes Designed for apple mac mini - mid 2011, late 2012 macmini5,1 macmini5,2 macmini5,3 macmini6,1 macmini6,2.

mac mini late 2012 ssd compatibility

WD 3.5: HDD Black in Voyager dock via FW 800: 9.32GB took 9.25 minutes.I am assuming it is due to the lower spinning speed of the Buffalo Drive.įor example, here are two carbon copy cloner clones and the amount of data and the time taken: Rather than a 12+16 pin PCIe connector on the logic board where the SSD would connect directly, the Mac mini positioned the.

mac mini late 2012 ssd compatibility

Of two drives I used with carbon copy cloner, one 2.5" Buffalo HDD is connected via its Thunderbolt 1 connection to the same connection on the iMac, and the other CCC backup Drive is a bare WD Black 3.5" in a Voyager Q dock connected via its firewire 800 port to the same port on the iMac.Īccording to specs and theoretical speeds, for the Firewire connection, I should be getting close to 800 Mb/s for Firewire 800 and as my Thunderbolt 1 has a maximum speed of 10 Gb/s, (10 Gbps = 1250 MB/s) which is a pretty good speed increase, at least according to the books, but in actual practice a very seldom see such a speed increase. Mac mini (Late 2014) Late 2014 was the first Mac mini to support Apple’s blade solid state drives, but it’s extremely limited internal space required a unique solution in order to connect the drive to the logic board. One thing closely related to this topic is what I have discovered with my own 2011 27in iMac, and that one thing that fascinates me is why and how the speed of two of my backup drives work.










Mac mini late 2012 ssd compatibility